Haworth swallowed up

When I entered the world of library work a couple of years ago I set out to become acquainted with the journals and magazines relevant to the profession. I thought I’d end up bookmarking the major ones, occasionally check for the new issues in our databases, etc. As I quickly learned, there are a lot more journals dedicated to the world of libraries than I could have imagined and checking when a new issue was available became too laborious and an inefficient use of time.

Most of the time I’d be alerted to interesting new articles by one of the blogs I subscribed to. Over the last couple of years, however, more and more databases/publishers (as noted recently by the The Distant Librarian) are offering RSS feeds for journal updates and specific searches.

I find this approach a lot more elegant than what I was doing about a year ago, going to each individual publishers web site, creating a login name and password, and signing up for email alerts. I can also share/save these feed results in my Google Reader Shared Items feed.

One of the publishers I came across through alerts and searches on topics of interest to me was Haworth Press. What amazed me was just how many library-related journals they published (I would say that having a title like “Slavic & East European Information Resources” qualifies you as a niche publisher). Out of curiosity I set out to read some of the articles from a number of the titles but it turned out that very few of their journals were accessible through the college and university databases I have access to.

It has now been announced that Haworth will be acquired by Taylor & Francis. The most interesting part of the press release for me (besides the fact that it actually includes the phrase “resplendent hosting service”):

“For Haworth Press authors and journal editors, the opportunities for increased access to libraries through consortia deals and stronger journal packages foreshadow increased impact, usage, and both subscription and intellectual growth.

I hope more Haworth titles show up in the databases I do have access to, however Taylor & Francis does not appear to be on the list of publishers Scholars Portal has agreements with.

This blog post by T. Scott highlights some of the deficiencies he has seen with Haworth.

An article I want to read from Haworth’s Journal of Interlibrary Loan, Document Delivery & Electronic Reserve is “Electronic Reserves and the Copyright Challenge in Canada“. With more and more course developers/teachers wanting to embed content in course management systems and school intranets, finding approaches to this legal minefield is a pressing concern.

I see that only a few area schools provide electronic access to this journal (another reason to be jealous of the cool people at McMaster).

The authour Joan Dalton did do a presentation at the 2005 Superconference with the same name as the article so at least I have a general idea of her thoughts on the topic, but a lot has happend in the past two years that I want to hear the latest views.

Two other articles about the merger:

2 Responses to “Haworth swallowed up”

  1. T Scott Says:

    Just a quick correction — in my post I was referring to the prepublication posting that is being done by the Journal of the Medical Library Association. I do not know if the Haworth journals are doing anything similar.

  2. Library Playground Says:

    Thanks. I’ll clean that up.


Leave a Reply

